My Declutter Project

Being part of Binibining Pilipinas 2013 was quite hectic and so I ended up with a bunch of clutter. I did not want to wait for New Year to start clearing things out so I decided to start my declutter project.

Why declutter?

I have always believed in the Japanese organization method of 5S that uses a list of five Japanese words: seiri, seiton, seiso, seiketsu, and shitsuke. The 5S phases are sorting, setting in order, systematic cleaning, standardizing, and sustaining.

When you have less stuff, things are a lot simpler. Imagine the time and energy you save trying to find things.

Getting Started

Starting a project is always difficult. You have to focus on one area at a time, you can’t go on a de-cluttering rampage! I chose to start with beauty products since I use it daily and it’s the easiest to declutter.

DAY I Vanity Shelf

As we grow up we end up using more products since our skin is more sensitive and we simply just become more. I never thought I would have this much because I basically did not care about how I look until after college. I was never fond of using make-up but then during the pageant we got a lot of free stuffs from Avon. I have never owned this much make-up in my entire life imagine getting 11 lippies in one day. Quite insane. Some of the products I got were already given to friends but I still have a number that I use. Along with that I also received a bunch of skincare and beauty products from my ever loving mama so I decided to start with organizing and checking everything.


1. Check all the products for expiry dates. Not all of us might be aware about the shelf life of our make-up so here is a simple guide.


Tip:  Write the date on the product when you open it so you’ll know when it’s time to throw it away.

You don’t need a gazillion of make-up to make yourself beautiful, you just need the right ones.

2. Sort products accordingly. I segregated my products based on the area I use it for like face, lips, eyes, hair, nails and body.

Day I was not as difficult to do. Will update you on my day 2 which is one of the most dreaded thing any woman can face… Day 2 Wardrobe

Start you own project now!

If you want to run your own declutter project too, here are the top strategies according to GetOrganizedWizard:

Have a strong why
Have a simple how
Do it fast
Check off your successes as you go.

Leave a Reply

