Now: How To Fight Thoughts of Uncertainty

Walking Through The River

I read my previous notes in Facebook recently and I stumbled onto this free verse that I originally wrote August 4, 2012.

Standing in front of two eternities, sadness and happiness accompany me.

Trying to hold on to the dusts of yesterday, losing grip of what used to be.

Confused with the now as future is pounding at my door.

A bleak promise of tomorrow awaiting outside.

Fears and worries prevent me from moving further, for thoughts of you still linger. Time why do you change things?

Weak and weary but I will trudge on.

Now is my only possession, for the past is dead and tomorrow is unborn.

I sometimes I end up worrying too much about things that it ends up temporarily freezing up my life. I guess not knowing will always bothers us. The fear of not being totally in control of our life is an ongoing disease. Sometimes I resort to emotional eating or running. I always tend to run away from it. Realizing that it will never stop bothering me , I confronted it head on and accept reality.

Having peace within one’s self is never easy. As social beings, we tend to use others or things to solve problems. It takes a lot of strength to fight our own demons. There is nothing more debilitating than self-doubt.

They say that fear is one of man’s formidable enemies. We do a lot of things that tend to be destructive to ourselves and relationships. Do not let something non-existing win over your life. Decide to be positive and active. You are given enough time to make the best out of you.

The most freeing thing you can do for yourself is to never lose hope. Believe in your capabilities and know that things happen for the better

Do you have these moments too? How do you get over them?

 

Leave a Reply

